Seek – Sense – Share

Standard

Content-Curation

 

SEEK – Over the years I’ve grown pretty adept at the Seek portion, but usually only as a “point of need” strategy for finding research that I needed at that moment.  It certainly wasn’t a deliberate “habit of the mind”.  So now, I am actively SEEKING out information, education, and inspiration.  But, I think this graphic says it all.  It’s pretty overwhelming to jump in.  Isn’t there a drip system?  I guess that’s what my new memberships with Feedly, Twitter (@sknorton_), and WordPress (follow me here!) are all about.  I’ve chosen a few feeds and blogs to follow and, right now, I have plenty of incoming information!

SENSE – I’m having a bit of trouble with this step of the PKM system, not because I don’t know how to make sense of the information, but because I’m having trouble making sense out of all my new APPs!  I know that I will work this out within a few weeks, but right now I’m wasting more time than I’m saving… unfortunately. This is where Evernote, Feedly, and Dropbox really come in.  I even “curated” some very, VERY helpful tutorials on Evernote… in my Evernote.  Would anyone like me to share those?  Most of them came from a very helpful chap on YouTube named Steve Dotto.  Here’s a link to his channel with many helpful tech videos! https://www.youtube.com/user/dottotech.seek-sense-share

SHARE – I’m also struggling with this step a bit because I feel awkward about asking people to read my thoughts and opinions.  But, as this “funnel” graphic demonstrates, this step helps me and can help my colleagues to filter through the material and share only the very best articles, tools, etc.  How am I sharing?  Well, this BLOG is the main vehicle for sharing.  I also employ Twitter by posting these blog posts for my friends and followers.  I’m going to start a weekly Content Curation blog post where I link, explain, and share some of my best finds each week.  Who knows?  Maybe I will get some followers, too!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Seek – Sense – Share

  1. I really enjoyed reading about how you’re approaching this and your initial thoughts. You’re exactly in the right place, as far as challenging yourself to try out some new routines and not giving up on the idea that it will be smoother in coming weeks. Part of why I have us talking through our PKM systems during the synchronous sessions is to hash out where people may be experiencing kinks in their systems and help to make it more effective for everyone. That will be a good, collective effort.

    One thought on the systems, perhaps you only think about a single place for curation… two, tops… I’ve got delicious for stuff I know I want to save (which would be like Evernote and dropbox, if I’m reading your model right) and pocket for stuff I am not sure if I want to save, but I want to read it later, to see if I want to save it.

    Pocket is where my system is breaking down, at the moment. I put stuff in there with every good intention of going back later to read it, but my collection just keeps getting bigger and bigger, as time goes on. At any rate, I can tell you that my system works pretty well, but we all need to make tweaks as we go, to continually make it all a better return on our investment of time.

    Thanks for sharing about your experience. This was fun to read.

  2. I loved this graphic, and when you extended the metaphor to reference a drip system, it made me smile. Funny coincidence: I just was working in the backyard this afternoon on my drip system.

Leave a Reply

