5 thoughts on “Rethinking Homework

  1. I was so glad to read this. Your blog couldn’t have come at a better time. Thank you for attaching the link to the article as well. Just as grades were being closed out last week, a good handful of our 8th graders were being denied promotion due to poor grades in “effort” as a result of them not reading at home each night. The principal of one of my school sites disagreed with this being used as a promotion criteria, as do I. She asked that I address the staff and give them my “expert advice”. Laughing, I said I could give them my “expert opinion”. I let her know that I’d be happy to address it next year after doing some research on the issue. That being said, your blog post was very relevant. I look forward to reading this article. Thanks!

  2. Here’s my opinion on homework: I hate it. Yep. I do. I feel like students work hard all day long. By the time they get home why would they put any real effort into it? It can also be problematic for parents who for any number of reasons may not be able to help their children.

    If I wasn’t required to give homework, I wouldn’t. I prefer assigning culminating projects that tie together what we’ve been learning in class. The other thing I don’t mind giving is study guides. Yes, I give my first graders study guides to prepare for exams.

    It makes me sad to think that students have to work equally hard at home as they do at school.

    Maybe this is just the elementary educator in me coming out…

  3. Homework! Homework! Give me a break! My district mandates that homework is sent home every evening and given during vacation. My 5th grade students were always trying to negotiate a deal when it came to homework. So, I began to listen. On my homework menu, I would have core lessons that they must do and 2 optional assignments that they may choose. It was lovely hearing the buzz in the classroom about what assignment they were choosing and why. Some of my students elected to do both assignments. I had to laugh out loud because they thought they had gotten over on me, but I just planted the seed that caused them to verbally engage, share ideas and produce a product that they selected. In addition, one weekend a month I would invite students to create their own homework. This was a real hit in my class. My students got the last laugh! The following Monday, I witnessed the academic rigor of projects, researched-based presentations and fabulous innovative products because I gave them a choice in guiding their own learning.

  4. Susie just last year teachers received a mandate from our central office letting us know that homework cannot account for more than 10% of the student’s grade and that it can not take more than 15 – 20 minutes each night. Parents and students are complaining of too much homework. But I was reminded while on a field trip to UCSB that homework is a major part of college grades. Are high school teachers doing their students a disservice by not requiring them to complete homework and by lowering its value? The tour guide at UCSB told the group of students that for each in class hour at least 3 hours of homework are required weekly. Therefore for a 3 hour in class course, nine hours of homework is required.

Leave a Reply

