Do As I Say – Not As I Do

Standard

This is my first post in months, but I’m jumping back into the Blog pool because I’ve asked my AP English students to do the same. Hopefully, my students won’t look back at my entries (and lack thereof) and judge me too harshly.  I know they are probably thinking the same thing!  So, since this is public territory, I want to share with my readers and students that I have three goals for this blog project and I’m posting them here so that we can see whether or not we meet or exceed the expectations.  I think we will all reflect on these three goals at the end of October. Good luck everyone!  Your enthusiasm is contagious! Here they are:

  1. We will all increase our technological skills – not just in posting our blogs, but also in working with our school WiFi, learning about other devices, and incorporating links and research.
  2. We will become better researchers – not just because of our Follow a Columnist project, but because we learn how to seek out interesting content.
  3. We become published, public writers – not just because we have to for our class grade (I know how that feels, too!), but because we have a lot to say and we know how to say it in interesting, entertaining, poignant, and professional ways.
3 thoughts on “Do As I Say – Not As I Do

  1. Melanie Brown

    All right. Good job. You have my interest but then I’m your Mom and almost always interested in what you’re doing. ________________________________

  2. I’m excited you’re back. Can’t wait to read more in the coming months. I misread what you wrote, originally, and thought you were having them follow a communist.

    • LOL! You know, they might be following a communist… there are communist columnists out there. So funny! The students are really jazzed. Keeping these motivated overachievers on their toes is fun.

Leave a Reply

